Understanding Marking Symbols

Continuing with my theme of advocating literacy in my classes (as an English teacher, as part of a cross-curricular subject area and as a teacher in general), I decided that a display reminding students about marking symbols would be useful. The English department have updated their marking policy this year as well, and having the changes easily visible to students is helpful. Following on from the Avengers posters, I’ve made these large and colourful and hope to be able to address certain issues in my boy-heavy classes. That’s not to say that girls don’t need the support, but I’m making these decisions based on the needs and profiles of my specific classes.

I’ve used Phoster to make these posters. I’ve seen variations that are a single poster containing all of the information, but as I have a huge, open plan classroom (which seats up to 66 students), I have plenty of space so chose to make each one a little bigger. I think that a larger literacy/marking display helps to promote its importance in lessons.

There are lots of different templates in different shapes and sizes to choose from within Phoster. I’ve chosen a square shape for each of my posters, simply for the sake of my display, but the templates are different for each shape. I’ve also added a filter of sorts on most of them after editing the text. You can add pictures and change the text, including removing some of the text. It’s mostly very handy, though on a couple of them I was unable to get text exactly where and how I wanted it (for example the spelling poster – I had wanted to increase the size of the word ‘spelling’ but that was as big as I could make it without changing the template). As a quick and easy go-to app for creating posters, however, it’s very useful.

I probably need to include some numeracy display materials, but I have no idea what to use – let me know if you have suggestions!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “Understanding Marking Symbols

  1. Pingback: How I bring culture into my classroom | Flying My Geek Flag

  2. Pingback: Making the Explicit Even More Explicit. | Flying My Geek Flag

Leave a Reply

