Technology and Me.

This was originally posted on staffrm.io.

tech plus me

Technology and Me

Inspired by Mark Anderson

Having just spent three days at the Bett Show, I think my first post should definitely be tech-related.

What’s your earliest memory of technology?

One of my earliest memories of tech was having a Commodore 64 computer. It was a big, bulky brown keyboard with a 5 1/4 inch disk drive. We used to play ‘Summer Games’ on it, and I loved the BMX racing! We also had Space Invaders on this tiny old black and white TV, but I don’t remember how that all connected – I have a vague memory of an Atari, but that might not have been ours.

What bit of technology frustrates you the most?

At the moment it’s Apple Configurator. I know I’m not alone in this one! I’ve been working at it, on and off, for months and I’m still not getting any joy. I feel guilty because it’s the sole reason my school purchased a Macbook and it doesn’t get any real use.

What devices do you use most regularly?

Probably my Google Nexus 5. Besides my work desktop computer, it probably gets the most use. I have a Windows laptop that is most often used to watch shows or films, with the odd bit of work or writing thrown in for good measure.

Finish this sentence: Technology is…

Essential. As much as I used to love going on holiday and having no tech with me and being completely off the grid, these days I still use my phone when abroad and of course my Kindle. There isn’t a day when I don’t use tech any more, which I admit may not be a good thing. There’s the usual emails, social media and work, but plenty of other things like my shopping list on Google Keep, tracking what I eat and how much I exercise, and even wearing a Pebble.

What tips do you have for others?

Don’t dive in and buy the first thing you see. Don’t think that the most famous brand is the best option for you. It’s always worth doing your research where tech is concerned, and buying the right thing for you is better than buying the most popular items. It’s no good having tech that sits and gathers dust because it doesn’t suit your needs.

Finish this sentence: Technology is not…

The only solution to any given problem. I teach plenty of tech-less lessons, I still keep a stack of scrap paper on my desk for notes, and I keep a paper map in my car.

Who would you like to answer these questions?

I don’t know who hasn’t at this point!

Leave a Reply

